Hell or High Water

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 9.59.16 PM

This movie is currently surrounded by a great deal of hype as we exit Oscar and Grammy season, and I have to admit: I can’t figure out why. Now, while I love a good western (especially one that involves a cutie pie like Chris Pine), I did not find this one to be particularly special. Don’t get me wrong, the story is interesting, the acting is impressive, and the movie is well-done as a whole, but I’m at a loss to name something that would draw me to recommend this movie or even to see it a second time.

The beginning is slow moving with some spurts of energy to keep you on your feet, but I don’t recommend watching this one on a night that you find yourself on the fence between sleep or committing to an extra two hours for a movie. 

Overall, the story is interesting enough to make up for its dull moments, but really not enough to warrant true praise. Sometimes, even with a slightly “boring” film, I might recommend it solely based on the originality of the story; I can’t say that Hell or High Water falls into this category either. 

If you love westerns or you played a lot of cops and robbers growing up, you might just fall head over heels for Hell or High Water,  but I’ve got to say, this one doesn’t make the cut for me. 

Leave a Reply

